Cheapest VPS for OpenClaw: 5 Plans Compared by Real Cost

·

·

Five server boxes of rising size with blank price tags on a desk, the smallest glowing as the cheapest pick, next to a clay lobster figure for OpenClaw

The cheapest VPS we could verify for OpenClaw at 2 vCPU and 4 GB RAM is OVHcloud VPS-1, at $4.54 a month before tax on a 12-month commitment. Contabo is close behind at $5.28 with double the RAM, but only if you prepay 24 months. All prices below were checked on the providers’ own order or pricing pages on November 2, 2026.

Most “best VPS for OpenClaw” lists are written by hosting companies that rank themselves first. This one is sorted by price alone, for the same minimum spec, and it shows what happens to the price after the promotion. This article contains no affiliate links.

Which VPS is cheapest for OpenClaw?

Here is the cheapest plan at each provider with at least 2 vCPU and 4 GB RAM, lowest price first.

# Provider and plan Specs Advertised price Billing term Renewal price Checked
1 OVHcloud VPS-1 2 vCore, 4 GB RAM, 40 GB NVMe $4.54/mo, ex. tax 12-month commitment, $54.48 (Vint Hill, US) Auto-renews to keep the discount; the future price is not stated Nov 2, 2026
2 Contabo Cloud VPS 4 4 vCPU, 8 GB RAM, 100 GB SSD $5.28/mo 24 months prepaid, $126.72 (EU region) Not stated; the list price is $6.60/mo Nov 2, 2026
3 Hostinger KVM 2 2 vCPU, 8 GB RAM, 100 GB NVMe $8.79/mo 24 months prepaid, $210.96 $14.99/mo Nov 2, 2026
4 Hetzner CPX22 2 vCPU, 4 GB RAM, 80 GB NVMe €19.99/mo, ex. VAT Monthly cap, billed hourly (EU) Same price Nov 2, 2026
5 DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 2 vCPU, 4 GiB RAM, 80 GiB SSD $24/mo Monthly cap, billed per second Same price Nov 2, 2026

Currencies and tax treatment differ, so treat small gaps as approximate. We read these pages from a US connection, and prices can vary by country.

What will you pay over 24 months?

The monthly headline hides how much you pay up front. These totals use only the published prices, before any add-ons.

  • OVHcloud VPS-1: $54.48 for the first 12 months, ex. tax. Two years would be $108.96 if the renewal price stays the same, which OVHcloud does not confirm on the order page.
  • Contabo Cloud VPS 4: $126.72 paid at once for 24 months. The order page shows no setup fee.
  • Hostinger KVM 2: $210.96 paid at once for 24 months.
  • Hetzner CPX22: €479.76 ex. VAT, paid monthly (24 × €19.99).
  • DigitalOcean: $576, paid monthly (24 × $24).

Hostinger shows the clearest renewal jump we could confirm: from $8.79 to $14.99 a month. OVHcloud’s cart also showed no setup fee. Hostinger, Hetzner and DigitalOcean did not list one on the pages we read, but we did not go through their full checkout.

What if you do not want a long commitment?

Contabo charges $6.60 a month on a one-month term, with no setup fee shown. OVHcloud offers a no-commitment option too; its cart showed a pre-discount yearly price of $64.20, which works out to about $5.35 a month, though we did not place a no-commitment order to confirm that figure. Hetzner and DigitalOcean need no commitment at all.

Does OpenClaw really need 2 vCPU and 4 GB RAM?

No. OpenClaw’s documentation does not set one general minimum for running it. The 2 vCPU and 4 GB figure is practical advice from hosting guides, and we use it here only to compare like with like.

The number people most often get wrong is about building, not running:

  • Building from source needs more memory. The OpenClaw Docker docs ask for at least 6 GB RAM for a local source image build. If a build ends with “Killed” or exit code 137, the Hetzner guide says to resize the server before retrying.
  • Running a pre-built image avoids that requirement. The same docs say pre-built images skip the build step, so a smaller server can use them.
  • The official small-server example is smaller still. The OpenClaw DigitalOcean guide uses a 1 vCPU, 1 GB Droplet at about $6 a month, recommends adding swap, and suggests API-based models or a 2 GB Droplet if you run out of memory.

In short, you can install on a cheap plan as long as you use a pre-built image. We have not load-tested OpenClaw on any plan in this article, so we cannot tell you how a 1 GB server holds up for your workload.

Are there cheaper plans below this spec?

Yes, but each one gives up CPU or memory compared with the table above:

  • DigitalOcean: 1 vCPU, 1 GiB, 25 GiB for $6 a month. This is the plan in OpenClaw’s own guide.
  • Hostinger KVM 1: 1 vCPU, 4 GB, 50 GB for $6.49 a month on 24 months prepaid, renewing at $11.99.
  • Hetzner CPX02: 1 vCPU, 1 GB, 20 GB for €6.49 a month, ex. VAT.

None of them beats OVHcloud VPS-1 on price, and OVHcloud gives you more CPU and memory than the 1 GB plans.

What should you check before you buy?

  • Server location. OVHcloud’s $4.54 is for Vint Hill, US; its Miami and Los Angeles Local Zones cost $5.55. Hetzner lists CPX22 for EU locations and Singapore, while its US plans are priced separately: its closest US plan, CPX21 with 3 vCPU and 4 GB, is €32.49 a month. Contabo’s $5.28 is shown for the EU region, and we did not price its US regions.
  • Local Zone limits. OVHcloud says its Local Zone VPS does not yet support Docker, so choose a standard data center if you plan to use the Docker install.
  • Availability. Hetzner’s Create button for CPX22 was active on November 2, 2026, but we did not complete an order, and the plans in its Cost-Optimized line were marked as not available.
  • Backups. OVHcloud includes a daily backup. Contabo’s Auto Backup is $2 a month. The OpenClaw docs tell you to back up state and workspace regularly, so include this in your budget.
  • Setup help. OpenClaw’s docs list Hostinger as a VPS with one-click setup, and Contabo lists OpenClaw among its 1-click apps. We did not test either one. Check what is managed for you afterwards, because updates and security may still be your job.

What does running OpenClaw cost beyond the VPS?

The VPS keeps the OpenClaw Gateway online, but the model is a separate cost if you use a paid API. That bill depends on your model and your usage, so we are not quoting a typical figure here. Check your model provider’s pricing and set a spending limit before you leave an agent running around the clock.

How do you keep a cheap OpenClaw VPS safe?

A low price does not change the basics. OpenClaw’s VPS documentation recommends these steps:

  • Harden admin access before you install OpenClaw on a public server.
  • Keep the Gateway on loopback and reach it through an SSH tunnel or Tailscale Serve.
  • Require a shared secret if you bind the Gateway to LAN or a tailnet.
  • Back up state and workspace regularly, because the VPS is the source of truth.

Which one should you choose?

  • Lowest price at 2 vCPU and 4 GB: OVHcloud VPS-1, in a standard data center.
  • Most RAM for the money: Contabo Cloud VPS 4, if you accept 24 months prepaid.
  • Listed one-click setup: Hostinger KVM 2, with the $14.99 renewal in your budget.
  • No commitment, with OpenClaw guides for the provider: Hetzner or DigitalOcean, at a much higher price for this spec.

Still deciding whether you need a server at all? [LINK PLACEHOLDER: Do I need a Mac mini for OpenClaw?] covers that question, and [LINK PLACEHOLDER: Mac mini alternatives for OpenClaw] compares hardware you can own.

FAQ

What is the cheapest VPS for OpenClaw?

At 2 vCPU and 4 GB RAM, OVHcloud VPS-1 was the cheapest we verified, at $4.54 a month before tax on a 12-month commitment (November 2, 2026). The cheapest plan named in OpenClaw’s own guides is a 1 GB DigitalOcean Droplet at $6 a month.

Can OpenClaw run on 1 GB of RAM?

OpenClaw’s DigitalOcean guide uses a 1 GB Droplet and recommends adding swap. It suggests API-based models or a 2 GB Droplet if you hit out-of-memory errors. We have not tested this ourselves.

Why does my OpenClaw Docker build fail on a small VPS?

A local source image build needs at least 6 GB RAM, according to the OpenClaw docs. On a smaller server, use the official pre-built image instead.

Do these prices stay the same when the plan renews?

Not always. Hostinger KVM 2 renews at $14.99 a month. OVHcloud and Contabo do not state a renewal price on the pages we read, so confirm it before you pay. Hetzner and DigitalOcean list one ongoing price.